Skip to content ↓

School Governors

Hello Parents, Guardians and Carers,

We want to introduce ourselves and tell you something about our role in the school. “Governor” sounds a big word. The Governors of Colman Infant School are volunteers who, like you, want to offer our support to all the children and staff to make a positive contribution to their lives and the wider school community.


The Head and Staff run the school on a day-to-day basis and as a Governing Body, we support them in many ways including policy making, decisions on finance, monitoring the curriculum and with the School Improvement and Development Plan.


There are Parents, Community and Local Authority governors as well as members of the teaching staff and you will have seen us around the school helping in different ways. We belong to the Full Governing Body as well as either the Finance, Premises and Personnel or the Curriculum Committee and each group meets twice a term.

The Governing Body

Parent Governors  

Term of Office

Mrs Penny Craft

Mr Craig Smitherman

Mr Duncan Harris                            

24/05/18 - 23/05/22

24/05/18 - 23/05/22

24/05/18 - 23/05/22

Governors appointed by the LEA (Norfolk County Council)

Coopted Governors

(co-opted by the govenors body to involve local community and business interests)

Mr J Ladd (Chair)

Mrs J Norman

Mr G Dalton

Teacher Governor

Mrs J Morris-Jones



Mr M Gamble


22/04/15 - 21/04/19

22/04/15 - 21/04/19

22/11/17 - 21/11/21


21/11/14 - 20/11/18





Clerk to Governors

Mrs J Peck, Colman Infant School, Colman Road, NR4 7AW 01603 491010




Mr M Gamble

Mr J Ladd (Chair)

Mrs J Norman



Mrs J Morris-Jones

Mr G Dalton

Mrs P Craft

Mr C Smitherman

Mr D Harris


Health & Safety

Pupil Premium





Index for Inclusion

LAC & Safeguarding

Mr J Ladd